top of page
Search
Writer's pictureSarah Nardi

Yantai Haicheng Fisherman's Wharf aka Germantown

Updated: Apr 28, 2019

A place to relax and enjoy the scenery surrounded by unique architecture.




One of my favorite spots in Yantai for relaxation is "Germantown" (officially called Fisherman's Wharf). Over the years I've gone here to visit the Yantai Whale Shark Museum (45 Binhai Middle Rd, Laishan Qu, Yantai Shi, Shandong Sheng, China), have tea and a snack overlooking the sea, have a fancy dinner and just enjoy the atmosphere.



The atmosphere here is much different than any other place in Yantai. It's a great place to people watch in a spot that time seems to stand still. There is no daily rush rush and you're not surrounded by tons of people.



It's a bit off the beaten path in terms of foot traffic, but it's visible when riding the 19 bus from downtown to Yantai University. Don't blink or you will miss it, though. If you inadvertently pass the stop, no worries! Just get off at the next stop and take a leisurely walk back up the road to get there. Even the views from the street are stunning!



One of my favorite memories at Germantown was when I was traveling with 3 American friends. I was needed in the Development Zone for the day and didn't want to keep my friends away from a day of #siteseeing. One of my friends has been to Yantai several times, so I gave her instructions to get them there and said I would meet up with them later in the day. Although she'd been there many times, she'd always gone with the comfort of me being the guide. I reassured her that all would be fine and that she'd easily find the place. As I was walking up to find them, I quickly spotted them enjoying life. For a moment, I stood in the distance and just enjoyed watching them - it brought me so much joy to see them experiencing life in Yantai without me as their guide/translator. I hope to bring many more people to Yantai and see them explore the city on their own just as they did.




53 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page